This function allows multiple people to work on the same document without creating conflicting copies. If you need to edit a document from a folder, first click the “Check Out” button. This will lock the folder so that no one else can make any changes to any documents in that folder. It will also create a comment to alert other users that you have checked out the folder and the time it was checked out. Even if you navigate away to a different page or close down your browser, the lock will remain on the folder until you “Check In”.

Check In: After you click the “Check Out” button, the page will automatically refresh and will be replaced with a “Check In” button.  You can replace existing files by clicking the Edit button next to them. You can also remove them completely. The recommended way is to upload a new file and use naming conventions to keep track of all document edits. Don’t forget to save before exiting the page!